In a League of their own: EFC’s Historical and Accessible Cities project wins 2014 International Design for All Award



Representants of The LHAC in Paris from the left: P.Zelenski (Sozopol Foundation), A. Barragan (Via Libre), M. Orejas (EFC), H. Hervé-Bazin (Reunica Foundation), S. Balmas (EFC).

The European Foundation Centre’s League of Historical and Accessible Cities (LHAC) project was selected as a winner of the 2014 International Design for All Award. The award was accepted on behalf of LHAC by Maria Orejas, Thematic Networks Director at the EFC, at a ceremony in Paris last night as part of the Urbaccess European Accessibility and Universal Design Exhibition.  Amongst 40 entries from 10 countries, the League was named one of the five ‘best practices’ which excelled in terms of impact and leading the way for better implementation of ‘design for all’.

“I’m delighted that the League has received the Award, which is just recognition for a project which stands as a model for any group of foundations who want to achieve a common goal by working together. It inspires new ways of collaborating; it embraces flexibility and individualism of partners; and it eschews the one-size-fits-all approach that many foundations fear when they contemplate entering collaborations.”- Gerry Salole, EFC Chief Executive.

Now in its 5th year, the awards recognise outstanding achievements by governments, non-profits, businesses and individuals in the field of design for all.  The awards honour examples of good practice which arise from a need or problem and which meet the Design for All Foundation’s criteria for excellence.  An international jury then selects the five "Best Practices" from these to be presented with the International Design for All Foundation Award.

Besides receiving a thropy the award winners will have also the right to a year's free membership of the Design for All Foundation's international networks, currently Towns and Cities for and User-Centred Business, and enjoy the benefits these have to offer.

For more information please visit the Design for all Foundation website and click on the following link:

0 comment(s) posted

Login so that you can add your own comments.

General Information

Submitted by: Silvia Balmas
Date published on the web: 13/02/2014