Applications Open for Access City Award 2016



Applications Open for the Access City Award 2016


The European Commission is currently inviting interested organizations to engage in the sixth edition of the Access City Award 2016. This award is notably recognized for assisting cities to become more accessible for people facing disabilities and the elderly who require assistance using urban transport.

European cities will be granted the opportunity to present their active strategies and activities outlined to make accessibility attainable without barriers to physical restrictions.

Five awards will be bestowed at the annual European Day of People with Disabilities Conference in Brussels on 7 December 2015 at the European Commission. The fourth and fifth place winners will receive categorical mentions based on on city access to work and accessible smart cities categories.

Your input on this award can inspire other cities to improve their policies and measures by making this world a better place for those confronting a barrier to accessibility.


The deadline for applications is 10 September 2015, midnight Brussels time.

The selection will be divided into two stages:

1.) National level and then followed by a;

2.) European selection


More information on the rules and conditions can be found in the guidance note and participation rules. To learn more about applying click here.

To learn more about the most effective practices in 2015 and the past winning cities, the brochure published by the European Commission with concrete details of the innovative projects can serve as an insightful resource. 

0 comment(s) posted

Login so that you can add your own comments.

General Information

Submitted by: Silvia Balmas
Date published on the web: 15/06/2015